Nurse with a gun

Two big events today. Went and picked up my concealed carry permit, and bought my first handgun (also my first gun, period). I decided on a Springfield XDm Compact 9mm. Why this gun? I wanted something that was reasonably forgiving to shoot but compact enough to conceal. It also has an ambidextrous mag release, which is nice since I am sinister (my favorite term for a left handed person). With the neverending caliber wars, I initially leaned toward buying a .40 cal, what decided me on 9mm was the price. Shot placement matters, and I can afford to practice 25% more with 9mm over .40.

Next project: Figuring out how to carry the thing while I’m backpacking. Seems like there are 100 different solutions out there, and all of them sorta suck.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

