I Pledge Allegiance

I pledge allegiance to the Flag of the United States of America, and to the Republic for which it stands, one Nation under God, indivisible, with liberty and justice for all.

Pretty much anyone in America can recite these words. It is an expected start to the school day for many in public school. People get all worked up about the words “Under God,” but I see a much larger problem. The entire concept of a public loyalty oath to the State seems so profoundly contrary to the values of liberty and freedom that we should be denouncing the Pledge from beginning to end. Instead of focusing on getting “Under God” out of the pledge, let’s scrap the whole thing as a bizarre element of fascism in a purportedly freedom-loving country.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “I Pledge Allegiance

  1. Absolutely! This is sacreligious to the ears of most Americans though. Oddly I came to this realization back in middle school after spending many hours flipping through Time Life books about fascism and all of the Hitler and Mussolini youth camps. It sort of hit me. “Hey that’s pretty much what we do.” Different uniforms and culture but very similar. Needless to say when I stopped standing for the national anthem and the pledge I was berated by multiple teachers even suspended (more than once) for “insubordination” which pretty much killed the whole mood of “with liberty and justice for all” for me personally. I still get sideways looks when I refuse to pay proper honor to our national deity (excuse me flag) at public events. It really is just extremely weird and creepy the way people absolutely adore their magic peice of fabric.

Leave a Reply

